13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1934, and Present Ministries—concluded.

BRITISH COLUMBIA.

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS.

Name.	Date of Appointment.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
Clement F. Cornwall Hugh Nelson Edgar Dewdney Thomas R. McInnes	July 20, 1876 July 20, 1881 Feb. 8, 1887 Nov. 1, 1892 Nov. 18, 1897	James Dunsmuir T. W. Paterson Sir Frank S. Barnard Col. Edward G. Prior Walter C. Nichol R. Randolph Bruce J. W. Fordham Johnson	Dec. 3, 1909 Dec. 5, 1914 Dec. 9, 1919 Dec. 24, 1920 Jan 21 1926

TWENTY-SECOND MINISTRY.

Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
Premier, Minister of Railways, and President of Executive Council. Minister of Finance and Industries Provincial Secretary and Minister of Education. Attorney General. Minister of Lands and Municipalities Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Mines and Labour, and Commissioner of Fisheries Minister of Public Works	Hon. T. D. Pattullo. Hon. John Hart. Hon. G. M. Weir. Hon. G. McG. Sloan. Hon. A. Wells Gray. Hon. K. C. MacDonald Hon. G. S. Pearson.	Nov. 15, 1933 Nov. 15, 1933 Nov. 15, 1933 Nov. 15, 1933 Nov. 15, 1933 Nov. 15, 1933

THE TERRITORIES.

Note.—In 1888 the districts of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabaska and Saskatchewan, then called the Northwest Territories, with their capital at Regina, were given local responsible government, and the old Northwest Council was replaced by the Northwest Legislature, which existed until Aug. 31, 1905. When the area included in these districts was formed into the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan, on Sept. 1, 1905, these provinces were given systems of government similar to the other provinces of the Dominion. The remaining areas (Yukon and the provisional districts of Franklin, Keewatin and Mackenzie) are now administered by the Lands, Northwest Territories and Yukon Branch, Department of the Interior. The Deputy Minister of the Department is, ex officio, the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories which comprises the three provisional districts.

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS.

Name.	Date of Appointment.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
A. G. Archibald Francis Goodschall Johnson Alexander Morris David Laird Edgar Dewdney	May 10, 1870 April 9, 1872 Dec. 2, 1872 Oct. 7, 1876 Dec. 3, 1881	Joseph Royal	July 1, 1888 Oct. 31, 1893 May 30, 1898 Oct. 11, 1898 Mar. 30, 1904

¹Second term.

PART IV.—REPRESENTATIVES IN OTHER COUNTRIES.* Section 1.—Representatives within the Empire.

The policy of the early North American colonies, of maintaining in London accredited representatives for business and diplomatic purposes, was recognized in the eighteenth century as being a more satisfactory means of communication

^{*}Revised by the Department of External Affairs, Ottawa.